Just another WordPress.com site

Slowing down…

About a month ago I was walking down a flight of stairs and thought I was at the end of it so I took a bigger step… Well it turns out that the stairs weren’t over! So my foot kind of turned under just a little bit as I was propelled forward. I grabbed onto the staircase and stood there for a moment. My husband was next to me but didn’t reach out as I seemed to be ok. I thought at first that my ankle was just a bit sore but as soon as I took a step forward I knew that wasn’t the case. Five minutes later when I took my shoe off, there was a baseball attached to the side of my foot. Not a good sign…

The next morning, a trip to the ER, and 3 x-rays later – tada! 2 fractures in the foot. I was sent home with a walking boot and a prescription to follow-up with an orthopedic doctor so I could keep my toes. Apparentlypeople who break their feet sometimes lose their toes. There’s little circulation in your feet so it’s a fairly common occurrence. Seeing as how flip flops are my preferred choice of footwear, I feel that retaining all toes is important. Once I followed-up with the orthopedic doctor, I was given an additional prescription for crutches.

The joys of crutches. Have you ever had crutches? They suck. You can’t carry anything in your hands. Carrying your weight around on your forearms is exhausting. And sweaty. You can’t prepare your own meals unless you carry a backpack and eat prepackaged food. For someone who prides herself on being independent, I have been forced to slow down, ask and accept help, and plan things out a lot better. My co-worker carries my 20 lbs. laptop into the office every morning and every night. My husband and kiddos carry said laptop into and out of the house every morning and night. Husband has had to pick up pretty much ALL household duty (well I can drag a stool into the kitchen and hand-wash dishes until the countertop is full). But it hasn’t been all bad. I have a newfound appreciation for meals. Once you can’t prepare them yourself, you are deeply appreciative when someone will take the time to make something and bring it over to where you are sitting. I am determined to get at least 8 hours of sleep so my foot can heal and my toes will stay! And overall I am ok with sitting still. It’s not as bad as I thought it would be.

So all in all while I am not crazy about the forced slower pace, it’s not all bad. A message to the universe – I think I am understanding the lesson. Take more time to appreciate, slow down, realize it’s not life or death, and just be thankful for the people around and their willingness to help. It’s not a burden when you need something and people are truly happy to help. However, once my foot is healed, I will be baking to thank everyone.

Oh and the other ironic part of this mess is about a week later, my mother-in-law broke her foot as well. She has crutches too. While I am genuinely sorry that she has to experience this as well, it is nice to have someone who truly gets to the frustration and struggles this has brought. I have cried more in the last month then I think I have in the last six months. But it could be so much more worse.

Let’s see if I still have this outlook after Thanksgiving where we are hosting both mine and husband’s family at our house.

 

2 responses

  1. MaXine Harker

    A friend told me once that she carpeted the bottom stair in a different color (like yellow) so her family would not make that mistake. I thought it was a pretty useful idea. Hope you are on the mend.

    November 21, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    • I like that idea. If we ever move into a 2 story house I think I will have to do that!

      November 24, 2010 at 6:31 am

Leave a Reply

