Just another WordPress.com site

Lions and Tigers and Exes, oh my!

Oh life. How it just has a way of kicking your ass sometimes.

Our lives are very rollercoastery (is that a word? It is now, since you understand what I’m talking about)Β  at the moment. Sorry for the vagueness, but I won’t be able to divulge details until later down the road. But let’s just say that is draining, exhausting, stressful, tiring, and awful. Sounds like fun doesn’t it? Not really. It’s making it difficult to focus on everything else on my already overwhelming to-do list. Throw in some food sickness, computer problems, work eruptions, and you have a recipe for disaster. So if you are experiencing the side-effects of this at the moment, my sincere apologies. It’s not personal, it’s not forever, and I will catch up with you – honest! But if you can hang in there in the meantime, I’d really appreciate it.

Ok enough whining. Oh wait, let’s continue with the whining but move onto craft whining. I haven’t had time for crafts lately. However, at some point, I will go crazy and glue popsicle sticks on the wall if I don’t craft. Fortunately one of my best friends had a birthday this weekend and since money is tight and she is a fellow crafter, I decided I’d make her this project I’d earmarked a year ago. Plates. Decorative glass plates. I want to do a whole tutorial on them but I’d like to share a couple of thoughts beforehand: 1) Don’t wait until the day before a gift is due to start making it if it’s something you’ve never done before & is a little intense. 2) Don’t spray paint in the wind 3) Take a picture of the finished project before you give it to the recipient! With Eric’s help, I was able to complete the gift and I think she loved it! Now I just need her to send me a picture and I will finish the tutorial and post (hopefully this weekend but if I don’t get it up, don’t be upset, ok? See above if that doesn’t make sense).

Monday I had the day off and a long list of plans. Except I woke up at 6:30 AM with extreme pain in my right eye. Like someone is stabbing it, OMG what’s wrong, am I going to have to gouge it out with a plastic utensil pain. I laid in bed for 2 hours like this, with my eye constantly watering and trying to figure out what I was going to do and at what point would it be acceptable to wake Eric up. 8:30 when he started to stir, I finally blurted out crying – Oh my God, my eye, my eye. What a nice way to wake up your husband on his day off. (Sorry love!) So he went to the store to get eye wash to see if that would help (I’m all about avoiding Dr.’s offices). And then the real fun began. You see, I kinda freak out about eye wash. I always have but my dear sweet husband has never had to experience it. Eric brought it home and told me to wash my eye out. I freaked out, threw a temper tantrum (complete with tears!), and kinda refused to use the eye wash. But the pain! So finally Eric held me down and washed my eye out (My husband’s a lucky guy, isn’t he? LOL). After about 10 minutes the pain subsided and my eye made a recovery. I even washed it out myself at the end of the day, just to be on the safe side. But itΒ  messed up my plans for the day.

In the afternoon I decided to craft. I had a great idea of using yarn and glue and a balloon to make a bowl for my Pay It Forward recipients (You guys didn’t know the craziness you signed up for, did you?). I spent about 2 1/2 hours or almost 4 Secret Life of the American Teenager episodes working on it. I was so excited. It looked so pretty. I let it dry and then this morning I popped the balloon so I could admire my bowl. But as soon as I popped the balloon, my bowl disintegrated. And all I was left with was this:

Pretty sad, isn’t it? And not bowl-like at all. I forgot to take a picture of it on the balloon so you could see it in it’s “bowl” glory. I have some ideas on what went wrong. So my plan is to do a design that is less labor-intensive and try it out before I make another one like this. We will see how it goes. If not, don’t worry PIF people – I will come up with something equally weird instead of a yarn bowl. Have no fear!

For now, it’s time to bed. Wake-up time is in less than 7 hours and I need my beauty sleep.

2 responses

  1. Jessica

    Oh man, that’s an awful day! You have a very brave husband, don’t you? πŸ™‚

    I remember making those balloons in grade school…wow, thanks for the flashback!

    February 24, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    • Yes, my husband is VERY brave πŸ˜‰

      Quite welcome for the flashback. I did paper-mache with balloons in grade school – we made masks. What did you guys do with it?

      And thanks for reading πŸ™‚

      February 25, 2011 at 7:48 pm

Leave a Reply

