Just another WordPress.com site

Remembering Grandpa…

Today is a bittersweet day, mostly tainted by sadness but trying to find the good. 3 years ago today my Grandpa passed. It was unexpected and heartbreaking.

So instead of going into all the things are sad and all the life reflections (maybe later this week?) I’d rather just post some special things about him. I’ve agonized about writing this post – I want it to be special, funny, and touching. But since my writing is still developing and I don’t think I will ever think the post is perfect, I’m just going with it.

Donald C. Moyer

Grandpa was known to the world as Donald C. Moyer. He was a pioneer and a trailblazer who wasn’t afraid to take risks. He was also the 1st President at UNLV.

He was a gentle soul, always loving and kind. He drove sportscars – and when I was little he’d let me stand in the seat through the sun roof as he would zoom down hills. He taught classes and was a counselor at Central Christian Church. I remember going to one of his classes and he started it off with a marshmallow fight so everyone would relax.

He’d wake up at 4 am and read his books, making notes for his therapy sessions later. He was a master wood craftsman and made beautiful, amazing cutouts to decorate the yard. He also made beautiful clocks out of wood. He was an inventor and one-of a kind. Not a single day goes by that I don’t think of him.

He always had a hammock and would take a nap in it. He loved being outdoors and we would often go play in the park with badmitton or a ball. He liked junk food and loved buffets. Snoballs were a preferred favorite.

I try to strive to be like him. He was an amazing human being and we were all so lucky to have him in our lives.

To remember him today, I’m going to pull out one of his therapist’s books that are outlined with his notes in it and climb into his hammock. Then when I get up I’m eating a great big Snoball. Remember to hug your loved ones and enjoy your days.

3 responses

  1. That is a beautiful tribute to an obviously very special man.

    April 3, 2011 at 9:37 pm

  2. Jessica

    There is something special about grandpas. Thanks for sharing your’s.

    April 5, 2011 at 1:28 pm

Leave a Reply

